I am excited to announce that I am the new owner operator of Hunters Union, dermestid beetle cleaning service. These beetles are of the species Dermestes maculatus, which is the species known to be voracious carrion eaters. Tag Archives: dermestid beetles canada. Dermestid beetles have been used to clean massive whale bodies, small bird and reptile remains, and everything in-between. Bousquet Y. Our procedure has proven over time to be the most effective way to preserve your prized skull while keeping teeth in place and avoiding excessive shrinkage. They’re shipped in a sawdust-like medium. I'm also very new to skull cleaning and dermestid beetles but ran a feed store for many years and stocked all sorts of different animal bedding etc. September 22, 2014 mckenziecreek Leave a comment. Preparing skulls with Dermestid beetles has several advantages over other methods, such as boiling or composting. By this stage there is little odour at all. Home; About; Beetles; Photos & News; Rates; Reviews; Contact; Don't risk boiling your trophy skull, do a safe beetle skull cleaning process! Jun 18, 2011 #1 . Buy It Now. As their nickname implies, “flesh-eating beetles” specialize in eating dead flesh. The bear skull pictured above was cleaned by the beetles in less than 24 hrs. Save dermestid beetles to get e-mail alerts and updates on your eBay Feed. Various. Dermestid beetles, dermestids, black carpet beetles, hide beetles, larder beetles, glabrous cabinet beetle, ornate carpet beetle, warehouse beetles, European larger cabinet beetle, Khapra beetle; Scientific names. Dermestid Beetles Survive Direct Shipping. About 4mm long. Dermestid beetles — small round beetles covered in tiny scales — are scavengers that feed on a variety of dry materials: fur, feathers, dead plants, even carpets! Call or Text: 715-554-1285. The time it takes to become an adult varies from about eight months to a year. (Ed). These bins last a year or so and cannot be beat at roughly $10 each. The company